History of Holy Family School
Nestled at the confluence of two rivers, Snake and Clearwater, lies Clarkston, Washington and Lewiston Idaho. Holy Family School stands in historic downtown Clarkston where the doors opened in 1921.
On August 26, 1921, School Sisters of Notre Dame arrived from Mankato, Minnesota to manage Holy Family School. Those sisters were Sisters M. Carlotta, M. Apollinaire and Candidate Sister Cecilia. School Sisters of Notre Dame’s charism is “a deep experience of God’s goodness and provident care.” They were especially moved by compassionate love for poor children. The charism of the school today remains the same. Holy Family School provides a faith-filled education to students of all demographics. Tuition assistance is granted enabling any child to attend regardless of socioeconomic status.
Classes began on September 6, 1921 in the old frame church. In 1937, a modern brick building was erected. The new structure included four classrooms, library, auditorium, kitchen, furnace room and restrooms on the lower level. In 1950, the gym was purchased from Farragut Navel Base in northern Idaho. The gym was formerly Navy barracks.